Bishop Cistone to Honor Two Missionary Disciples with 2017 Bishop Murphy Award

Share this post

 patricia leona 2 

WHAT: Presentation of the Bishop Murphy Award 2017
WHERE: Bishop’s Ball, Horizons Conference Center at 6200 State St., Saginaw 
WHEN: 5:30 p.m. Reception, 7 p.m. Dinner, Friday, April 28 (All are Invited)

SAGINAW- The Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, announced the recipients of this year’s Bishop Murphy Award. The awards will be presented to Leona Jones (pictured right), a parishioner at St. Elizabeth Parish in Reese and Patricia Murdock (pictured left), a parishioner at Holy Name of Mary Parish in Harbor Beach, during the Bishop’s Ball on Friday, April 28 at Horizons Conference Center in Saginaw.

The Bishop Murphy Award recognizes the life-long commitment of individuals who share and live their Catholic faith in a way that continues the evangelizing mission of Jesus Christ. The award is presented to individuals who have given witness throughout their lives, in word and deed, to the Good News of the Gospel.

“Leona and Patricia are living examples of faith in action,” Bishop Cistone said. “They serve with strength, humility and most importantly, with love. They are missionary disciples, giving witness to the many ways in which the Lord uses us when we offer our hearts to Him in service to others.”

Leona Jones has faithfully served her parish, community and diocese in a variety of ways for decades. She serves as organist, choir member, cantor and worship commission member at her parish, St. Elizabeth of Hungary in Reese. She assists at weddings and funerals at her parish as well. Leona also has served as executive secretary for the Clergy Benefits Society since its inception in the 1970’s. In this role, she aides priests of the diocese with their retirement and healthcare benefits. For more than two decades, Leona served as secretary for the late Bishop Ken Untener. Today, she serves as operations manager for Little Books. Little Books are distributed globally and encourage the faithful to pray and spend time with the Lord each day.


Patricia Murdock served her parish community for 43 years as a beloved teacher and volunteer at Our Lady of Lake Huron School. She is fondly known for making sure former students knew of their intrinsic worth and reminding them of their responsibility to become the person God called them to be. Now retired, Patricia continues to give of herself each week in numerous parish and community ministries. She has served on multiple parish committees including RCIA, she’s a member of the parish choir and involved with many liturgical ministries. She also is a leader and vibrant member of the evangelization committee. Patricia has also served at the Huron County Baby Pantry, Huron County Safe Place, and has aided with outreach to homeless veterans.

Leona and Patricia will be honored at this year’s Bishop’s Ball on Friday, April 28 at Horizons Conference Center in Saginaw. The Bishop’s Ball gathers together the local faith community to celebrate all that is done to continue the evangelizing mission of Jesus Christ. In addition to the presentation of the Bishop Murphy Award, the event includes a silent auction, formal dinner, live band and entertainment. More information may be found here.

The following is a list of past award recipients along with their parish and/or organization and the year in which they received the Bishop Murphy Award: Olympia DeAgostino, Cathedral of Mary of the Assumption, Saginaw (2016) and Marie Wrocklage, St. Michael Parish, Maple Grove (2016); Oscar Mendoza, Holy Spirit Parish, Shields (2015); Katherine Maurer, St. Frances Xavier Cabrini Parish, Vassar (2014) and Mark Morand, Our Lady of the Visitation Parish, Bay City (2014); Kenn Bueche, Chesaning Area Emergency Relief Organization, Chesaning (2013) and Sister Marietta Fritz, S.N.D. de N, Emmaus House, Saginaw (2013); Edna Kujawski, St. Agatha Parish, Gagetown (2012); Sister Maureen Donovan S.C., Sisters of Charity, Bay City (2011); Dr. Donald Campbell, St. John the Evangelist, Essexville (2010); Bishop Robert J. Carlson, Diocese of Saginaw (2009); Sister Corinne Weiss, SJ, Diocese of Saginaw (2008); Stanley Krajkowski, St. Casimir Parish, Saginaw (2007).

A print-friendly version of this information is available here


fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon