Nine Deacons Ordained for the Diocese of Saginaw

Share this post

On June 11, 2017, eight men were ordained permanent deacons by the Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, at the Cathedral of Mary of the Assumption in Saginaw. The new permanent deacons include:

Daniel Corbat, St. Brigid of Kildare Parish, Midland; Lawrence Deford, Blessed Sacrament Parish, Midland; Librado (Larry) Gayton, St. Joseph Parish, Saginaw; Steven George, Holy Spirit Parish, Shields; Timothy Hartwig, St. Jude Thaddeus Parish, Essexville; Kenneth Kochany, Our Lady of Peace Parish, Bay City; Todd Lovas, Nativity of the Lord Parish, Alma; and Richard (Rick) Warner, St. John Vianney Parish, Saginaw.

Also during the Mass, Bishop Cistone ordained Dr. Jerome (Jerry) Green, pastoral administrator of St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Shepherd, to the transitional diaconate. This means that he, unlike the other eight, plans to continue discerning priesthood for the Diocese of Saginaw.

Downloadable photos are available here 

About Deacons

Deacons are ordained ministers of the Catholic Church. They perform works of mercy, preach, teach, baptize, lead the faithful in prayer, witness marriages, and much more. More information about the diaconate may be found here.  Those interested in applying for the Permanent Deacon Formation Program for the Diocese of Saginaw may contact Dr. Dan Osborn at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or 989.797.6662.

Bishop Cistone's Ordination Homily

 TV5 Story About Deacon Librado "Larry" Gayton Days Before Ordination






fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon