Holy Hour with Bishop Cistone each month

Monday, 16 January 2012 08:42

Share this post

       WHAT:    Bishop Joseph R. Cistone will lead Holy Hour
       WHEN:    7:00 — 8:00 p.m. on Wednesday, January 18
       WHERE:  St. Agnes Catholic Church, 300 Johnson St., Freeland

SAGINAW — The Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, will lead a Holy Hour each month throughout this year in churches located across the diocese. The intention for the Holy Hour is the historic undertaking, Planning Tomorrow’s Parishes, a strategic planning process designed to engage parishioners to assess the state of churches across the 11-county Diocese of Saginaw and develop recommendations to enhance the vibrancy of future parish life.

In addition to daily prayer and the celebration of Mass daily and weekly, the Holy Hour devotional is an opportunity for the faithful to come together with their Bishop for Eucharistic Adoration in the presence of the Blessed Sacrament.

Planning tomorrow’s Parishes is an undertaking of such magnitude that we cannot succeed without God‟s help and an abiding spirit of prayer,” Bishop Cistone said. “This process will require change, sacrifice, sadness and even loss. It will require patience and forgiveness, as well as boldness and creativity. It will certainly require prayer, openness to the Spirit and a willingness to yield our own will and desires to the will of God and the faith-needs of the generation to come. We know that God‟s plans are plans for our welfare, not for woe. They are plans to provide us “„a future full of hope.‟”

All are invited to come pray with Bishop Cistone during the monthly Holy Hour. The first Holy Hour will begin at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, January 18 at St. Agnes Catholic Church in Freeland. The date and parish location for the next Holy Hour will be available soon on the diocesan website.

The Diocese of Saginaw is home to 108,601 Catholics, worshiping in 105 parish communities, across Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Isabella, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac and Tuscola counties.

fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon