Oscar Mendoza Named Bishop Murphy Award Winner

Wednesday, 15 April 2015 06:15

Share this post

webJail Chaplain and Devoted Community Servant, Oscar Mendoza, Named Bishop Murphy Award Winner

WHAT: Presentation of Bishop Murphy Award
WHERE: Bishop’s Ball, Horizons Conference Center at 6200 State St., Saginaw
WHEN: 7 p.m., Friday, April 24

SAGINAW- The Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, announced that Oscar Mendoza, a parishioner at Holy Spirit Parish in Shields, will be the recipient of this year’s Bishop Murphy Award. The award recognizes the life-long commitment of individuals who share and live their Catholic faith in a way that continues the evangelizing mission of Jesus Christ. It is presented annually at the Bishop’s Ball to individuals who have given witness throughout their lives, through word and deed, to the "Good News" of the Gospel. This year’s presentation will take place on Friday, April 24 at Horizons Conference Center in Saginaw.

“Oscar Mendoza is a man of humility with great compassion for stewardship, justice and living the Gospel message,” Bishop Cistone said. “His example of living a life in Christ is truly inspiring.”

For more than 20 years, Oscar has served the Diocese of Saginaw as a commissioned lay minister. At Holy Spirit Parish, he is involved with RCIA, funeral vigils, youth ministry, stewardship and parish outreach. Beyond the scope of parish ministry, he works as a chaplain for the Saginaw County Jail. He helps men reestablish themselves in the community and inspires them to become positive examples for others. He serves on the Bishop’s Hispanic Advisory, assists Little Books with Spanish translations and also offers free classes on Fridays to those with an interest in learning Spanish. He uses his bilingual capability to serve those in need overseas and travels annually to the Dominican Republic as a translator for surgeons and doctors. He is a member of the Board of Directors for the Catholic Heritage Museum and a volunteer for the MYE Faith diocesan youth event. He also helps with a neighborhood festival for families living in the Cathedral district in Saginaw.


The following is a list of past award recipients along with their parish or organization and the year in which they were given the award : Katherine Maurer, St. Frances Xavier Cabrini Parish, Vassar and Mark Morand, Our Lady of the Visitation Parish, Bay City (2014), Kenn Bueche, Chesaning Area Emergency Relief Organization, Chesaning and Sister Marietta Fritz, S.N.D. de N, Emmaus House, Saginaw (2013); Edna Kujawski, St. Agatha Parish, Gagetown (2012); Sister Maureen Donovan S.C., Sisters of Charity, Bay City (2011); Dr. Donald Campbell, St. John the Evangelist, Essexville (2010); Bishop Robert J. Carlson, Diocese of Saginaw (2009); Sister Corinne Weiss, SJ, Diocese of Saginaw (2008); Stanley Krajkowski, St. Casimir Parish, Saginaw (2007).

All are invited to attend the Bishop’s Ball. The Bishop’s Ball gathers together the local faith community to celebrate all that is done to continue the evangelizing mission of Jesus Christ. The event includes the Bishop Murphy Award presentation, a silent auction, formal dinner, drawing of the Catholic Community Foundation of Mid-Michigan’s BIG Raffle winners and live band and entertainment. Ticket information may be found on the diocesan website, Saginaw.org.

fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon