New Parish Names Announced

Friday, 24 January 2014 15:41

Share this post

SAGINAW- In this second year of parish restructuring across the Catholic Diocese of Saginaw, more parishes will come together as new parish communities with new parish names effective July 1, 2014. Parishes throughout the diocese have written their own action plans to revitalize parish life and will focus on areas such as providing enhanced educational programs for young people and adults, nurturing vocations and living out the Church’s mission of evangelization.

Each of the parishes that will merge submitted a list of three proposed new parish names to the Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw. In many cases, the names were voted on by parishioners and Bishop Cistone attempted to grant the top name choice as often as possible.

“The parish name changes and action plans bring us another step closer to enlivening and enriching our parishes,” Bishop Cistone said. “I am grateful to all those who are making every effort to cooperate with surrounding parishes, whether in mergers, linkages or partnerships as we move forward together to do the work of evangelization in the name of Jesus Christ.”

In Jan. 2013, through the work of Planning Tomorrow’s Parishes, Bishop Cistone announced decisions to restructure parish communities across the diocese and designate use of churches to better serve the faithful. The parish restructuring plan is one component of Bishop Cistone’s vision for a complete revitalization of the diocese.

More than 600 lay faithful, pastors, pastoral administrators, deacons and religious sisters, representing every parish, have been involved at the grassroots level to implement Bishop Cistone’s decisions. They have worked together to write action plans identifying goals for their parish that would strengthen evangelization efforts and outreach. The plans were submitted to and reviewed by the Diocesan Implementation Team and shared within parish communities last year.

Masses to celebrate the new parish communities will be celebrated in the months ahead. There will be opportunities to honor the past, come together and realize their plans for the future.

Click here for a full list of new parish names.

The Catholic Diocese of Saginaw was established by Pope Pius XI on Feb. 26, 1938. Today, it includes 6,955 square miles across Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Isabella, Midland, Sanilac, Saginaw and Tuscola counties.


fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon