Religious Leaders Call for ‘Compassion’ for Undocumented Children

Monday, 14 July 2014 16:06

Share this post

Religious Leaders Join Bishop Cistone in Joint Statement Calling for ‘Compassion’ for Undocumented Children

(Bishop Cistone has extended an invitation to area faith leaders to join him in support of the statement below. Names of religious leadership support will continue to be added.)

“The recent influx of undocumented children through Central America and Mexico into the United States is, indeed, a humanitarian crisis. As faith leaders, we are deeply concerned about the safety and well-being of the children involved. We urge lawmakers to protect these vulnerable children from further danger and exploitation and to work expeditiously for comprehensive immigration reform.

“As one human family, we are called to act with compassion and good will. We are aware of the frustration that exists, which has led to anger and, in some cases, threats of violence. Nevertheless, our response cannot be shaped by violence or political and social divide. Rather, in solidarity, we must focus on the needs of these children who, in their innocence, come to us seeking safety.”

Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw

The Rev. Douglas S. Abel
First Presbyterian Church, Vassar

Ms. Gloria Adair
Refugee Center Ministries, Saginaw

Rev. Gerald Balwinski
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw, Senior Priest

Rev. James Bessert
St.John Paul II Parish, Carrollton
Sacramental Minister and Diocesan Liturgy Office Director

Rev. Andrew Booms
Cathedral of Mary of the Assumption, Saginaw
Rector and Diocesan Director of Vocation Formation

Rev. Robert Byrne
Blessed Trinity Catholic Church, Frankenmuth

Rev. Jose Maria Cabrera
All Saints Parish, Bay City
Pastor and Vicar for Hispanic Ministry

Rev. James Carlson
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw, Senior Priest and Ecumenical Officer

The Rev. Catherine Christman
Vassar First United Methodist Church

Hurley J. Coleman, Jr., D.D.
World Outreach Campus Church, Saginaw
Senior Pastor

Sister Lucille D’Amelio, OP
Ss. Charles and Helena Catholic Church, Clio
Pastoral Associate

Rev. Robert J. DeLand
St. Agnes Catholic Church, Freeland

The Rev. Dr. Todd Farley
First Congregational Church of Saginaw
United Church of Christ

Rev. Stephen Fillion
All Saints Parish, Bay City
Parochial Vicar

Rev. Bob Flickinger
St. Basil Catholic Church, South Haven

Sister Janet Fulgenzi, OP, PhD
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw
Delegate For Religious and Victims Assistance/Safe Environment Coordinator

Rev. Bert Gohm
Corpus Christi Parish, Bay City

Sister Christine Gretka, CSJ
St. John Paul II Parish, Carrollton
Pastoral Administrator

Ms. Carol Hale
St. Mark Catholic Church, Au Gres
Pastoral Administrator

The Rev. Darwin Highlen
Holiness Missionary Church, Vassar

Ms. Anita Holtz
Blessed Trinity Church, Frankenmuth
IHM Associate

Sister Maria Inviolata Honma, SMDG
Ave Maria Parish, Lexington
Pastoral Administrator

Deacon Michael Jankowiak
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw

Rev. David Jenuwine
St. Elizabeth of Hungry Catholic Church, Reese

Rev. Jack Johnson
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw, Senior Priest

Rev. Richard Jozwiak
St. Frances X. Cabrini Catholic Church, Vassar
Sacramental Minister

Rev. Dr. Campbell Lovett
Michigan Conference of the United Church of Christ
Conference Minister

Rev. John Mancini, OSFS
St. Frances de Sales Parish, Bridgeport

Sister Marie Markel, IHM
Holy Spirit Catholic Church, Shields
Pastoral Associate

Rev. Thomas McNamara
Ss. Francis and Clare Parish, Birch Run
Sacramental Minister

Sister Judith O’Brien, IHM
Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Port Austin-Kinde
Pastoral Associate

The Rt. Rev. Todd Ousley
Episcopal Diocese of Eastern Michigan

Sister Mary Lou Owczarzak, MSSp
Mission Sisters of the Holy Spirit, Secretary/Treasurer

Deacon Roger Pasionek
Holy Family Catholic Church, Saginaw
Pastoral Administrator

Deacon Gary Patelski
St. Michael Catholic Church, Pinconning
Pastoral Administrator

Sister Joann Plumpe, OP
Corpus Christi Parish, Bay City
Pastoral Associate

Sister Elaine Raymond, MSSp
Mission Sisters of the Holy Spirit, Vice-President

Pastor Wally Reames
LifeLine Victory Center, Vassar

Sister Ellen C. Rinke, IHM
St. Frances X. Cabrini Catholic Church, Vassar
Pastoral Administrator

Ms. Susana Roznowski
Our Lady of Czestochowa Parish, Bay City
Commissioned Lay Minister

Rev. John Sarge
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw, Senior Priest

The Rev. Craig Alan Satterlee, Ph.D.
North West Lower Michigan Synod ELCA

Sister Virginia Scally, SNDdeN
St. Catherine of Siena Parish, Bay City
Pastoral Administrator

Rev. Joseph Shabel
Mexican American Council Board, Saginaw
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw, Senior Priest

Sister Lois Ann Sheaffer, SFCC
Minister to Inner-City Saginaw

Rev. Harry Sikorski
Maplewood Manor Residence Council, Chaplain

Deacon Michael Smith
St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Shepherd
Pastoral Administrator

Sister Margo Tafoya, MSSp
Coordinator of the Catholic Diocese of Saginaw Mission Office
Mission Sisters of the Holy Spirit, President

Rev. William Taylor
Catholic Diocese of Saginaw, Senior Priest

Rev. Ronald Wagner
Christ the Good Shepherd, Saginaw

Sister Patricia Warbritton, CSJ
Ss. Francis and Clare Parish, Birch Run
Pastoral Administrator

Paul Werner
North West Lower Michigan Synod ELCA
Lay Minister, Vassar



fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon