Bishop Cistone Accepts Nine Permanent Deacon Candidates

Monday, 29 September 2014 09:29

Share this post

The Mass with the Rite of Admission to Candidacy (Permanent Diaconate) was a wonderful occasion for many. More photos from the day can be found here.

diaconate candidacy

Front Row (Left to Right): Deacon Roger Pasionek, Father Tom McNamara, Stephen Moser, Todd Lovas, Bishop Cistone, Daniel Corbat, Tim Hartwig, Father T.J. Fleming

Back Row (Left to Right): Rick Warner, Ken Kochany, Larry Gayton, Larry Deford, Steven George, Dr. Dan Osborn. 

Bishop Cistone Accepts Nine Permanent Deacon Candidates During Mass in Freeland

SAGINAW — The Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, has admitted nine men to candidacy in the diocese’s permanent diaconate formation program. The Mass with the Rite of Admission to Candidacy took place at St. Agnes Parish in Freeland on Saturday, Sept. 27.

The nine candidates, all of whom are married, will now begin the three years of candidacy formation which precede ordination to the permanent diaconate. Rev. Thomas McNamara, who was recently appointed by Bishop Cistone to serve as director of the permanent diaconate for the Diocese of Saginaw, oversees the permanent diaconate formation program. Father McNamara is a senior priest and former vicar general of the Diocese of Saginaw.

The nine individuals admitted to candidacy are:


• Daniel Corbat, St. Brigid of Kildare Parish, Midland
• Lawrence Deford, Blessed Sacrament Parish, Midland
• Librado (Larry) Gayton, St. Joseph Parish, Saginaw
• Steven George, Holy Spirit Parish, Shields
• Timothy Hartwig, St. Jude Thaddeus Parish, Essexville
• Kenneth Kochany, Our Lady of Peace Parish, Bay City
• Todd Lovas, Nativity of the Lord Parish, Alma
• Stephen Moser, St. Brigid of Kildare Parish, Midland
• Richard Warner, St. John Vianney Parish, Saginaw

The permanent diaconate program involves four years of formation on many levels: human, spiritual, intellectual, pastoral and diaconal. The formation program takes place at the diocesan Center for Ministry, 5802 Weiss St. in Saginaw. Those interested in applying for acceptance in the next class of deacon aspirants should contact the Center for Ministry at 989-797-6607.

fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon