Who Inspires You to Live Your Faith? Consider Nominating for Bishop Murphy Award

Thursday, 03 November 2016 08:37

Share this post

 Deadline for Nomination is Dec. 1, 2016

SAGINAW — The Diocese of Saginaw's Bishop Murphy Award is awarded each year to an individual whose commitment to the gospel has furthered the evangelizing mission of the Church. The award is named after the first bishop of our diocese, the Most Rev. William F. Murphy. Nominations of potential candidates will be accepted until the December 1 deadline. The award honors individuals who have given witness throughout their lives, through word and deed, to the "Good News" of the Gospel.

The nomination form may be found here. All nominations must be supported by the nominee's pastor or pastoral administrator. The “re-nomination” of previously nominated individuals also will be accepted. Current parish and school employees are not eligible for nomination.

The Bishop Murphy Award will be presented on Friday, April 28, 2017, at the 11th Annual Bishop’s Ball at Horizon Conference Center in Saginaw.



The following is a list of past award recipients along with their parish or organization and the year in which they were given the award : Olympia DeAgostino, Cathedral of Mary of the Assumption, Saginaw and Marie Wrocklage, St. Michael Parish, Maple Grove (2016); Oscar Mendoza, Holy Spirit Parish, Shields (2015); Katherine Maurer, St. Frances Xavier Cabrini Parish, Vassar and Mark Morand, Our Lady of the Visitation Parish, Bay City (2014), Kenn Bueche, Chesaning Area Emergency Relief Organization, Chesaning and Sister Marietta Fritz, S.N.D. de N, Emmaus House, Saginaw (2013); Edna Kujawski, St. Agatha Parish, Gagetown (2012); Sister Maureen Donovan S.C., Sisters of Charity, Bay City (2011); Dr. Donald Campbell, St. John the Evangelist, Essexville (2010); Bishop Robert J. Carlson, Diocese of Saginaw (2009); Sister Corinne Weiss, SJ, Diocese of Saginaw (2008); the late Stanley Krajkowski, St. Casimir Parish, Saginaw (2007).

A print-friendly version of this information may be found here. 

fb_icon twit_icon youtube_icon photo_icon rss_icon